I need to get out of the way…

Standard

This video is not specifically on the verse that I chose, but it illustrates the point well enough…Look down below for a video from yesterday’s Gospel reading…It illustrates exactly how I heard the Gospel speaking to me yesterday…

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  Of its own accord the land yields fruit, first the blade, then the ear, then the full grain in the ear.  (Mark 4:28)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning a specific call to let God do the work that he is doing and make sure that I am not standing in the way of His progress.  Too many times, I think I try and out-think God and work hard to show Him that I know what I am doing.  The reality is, I have no idea what I am doing without Him leading the way for me.  The first reading today was about King David’s indiscretion with Bathsheba and how he covered it up by making sure her husband was out of the way.  As far as I know, I have never done anything that bad, but the reality is that I have definitely fallen short of the glory of God many times in my life.  It is not by my actions that I will be given the grace I need to live the eternal life.

Personification:  Peace  It was as if the word Peace was jumping off the page at me when I went to search for the fruit of the spirit to focus on today.  I will let the definition speak for itself, because it says exactly what I need the grace of God to be able to display in my life today and for the rest of my life.  Peace is a quiet, inner confidence that keeps us from feeling uptight and anxious.

Prayer:  Lord, watch over me today and for the rest of my life, so that I can be at peace with whatever direction you are leading me in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Yesterday’s Gospel…

Leave a Reply

