Today’s first reading…Not for the faint hearted…

Standard

Gift:  Understanding

Reading:  The elders of his house stood beside him urging him to rise from the ground; but he would not, nor would he take food with them.  (2 Samuel 12:17)

Observation:  I decided to pick just the last verse of the first reading to journal on today, because of the feeling I had after I finished reading it today.  I don’t know if the church intended us to have a reaction to the first reading like I did this morning, but I certainly felt like the church was saying that I need to read the rest of the story to find out what happened to David’s son.  I guess I will leave my observation about the verse there, so hopefully anyone reading this will have the same reaction I did, and maybe read the rest of the story in the book of Samuel.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  I am aware of the fact that I am being called to display the fruit of humility in my life today and for the rest of my life.  I hope that I will follow the will of God for me today as it is revealed to me and allow the Holy Spirit to continue to be my guide to act with the gentleness that is attributed to Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that it is only by your grace that I am able to do anything good in my life.  Please help me remember to give you thanks at all times for everything that you are doing in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

