Who is counseling us? Jesus should be our strength…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  Abishai, son of Zeruiah, said to the king: “Why should this dead dog curse my lord the king? Let me go over, please, and lop off his head.”  (2 Samuel 16:9)

&

Catching sight of Jesus from a distance, he ran up and prostrated himself before him, crying out in a loud voice, “What have you to do with me, 3 Jesus, Son of the Most High God? I adjure you by God, do not torment me!” (He had been saying to him, “Unclean spirit, come out of the man!”)  (Mark 5:6-8)

Observation:  In the first reading, I hear the call to be careful where I am receiving counsel, because they could not be concerned about following the will of God and their path may not be the same path that God has chosen for you.  David’s repentant heart is evident in this reading because of his willingness to suffer the shame of the slanderous comments.  In the Gospel reading, I am left with a sense of the fact that the Apostles must have felt 10 foot tall and bulletproof walking around with Jesus.  Although as Father Michael Manning says in the video reflection today, they must have been a little scared knowing that they were going to meet up with the possessed man, they had to be amazed to see the demon possessed man laying prostrate before him with the knowledge that Jesus was about to destroy them and they were pleading for their chance to stay in the territory.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude)  This is the fruit that jumped off the screen to me today.  I think the reason is because it has been difficult to deal with so many youth in the youth ministry that don’t seem to be getting it, and by it, I mean that our faith is not being passed on to them.  I am hearing this morning the call to remember that my job is to support the parents in passing on their faith to their children, and not to be the sole proprietor of their faith formation.  As a church, we can only do so much for them and I can take solace in the fact that because of my job, it is much easier for me to focus on passing our faith to my children…

Prayer:  Lord, help me to remember that the work that you began in me is a marathon and not a sprint and hopefully I can see today in the light of that truth and act accordingly.  Please help me to seek your counsel in all things and never lose faith that you will see me through all things.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

