Be a man…

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  I am going the way of all flesh.  Take courage and be a man.  (1 Kings 2:2)

&

He instructed them to take nothing for the journey but a walking stick–no food, no sack, no money in their belts.  (Mark 6:8)

Observation:  This morning, I see that as David is dying in the first reading he tells his son Solomon to take courage and be a man.  He is telling him to follow the will of God in his life and follow the statutes that were handed down to him by Moses.  In the Gospel reading, I focused on the fact that Jesus sent out his apostles with no money or food or even a sack, yet they were still able to work miracles in his name.  For me, I feel like the wisdom of the past shows us how things will go wrong, if we stray from the path and how things will go amazingly right if we listen to how God is calling us and completely rely on him to supply our needs to accomplish his will in our lives.

 Personification:  Self-Control  I am hearing the call today to be a man by displaying the fruit of self-control in my life today and for the rest of my life.  It is not just by scheduling my time more effectively, but by understanding that the schedule will have to change at times and accepting that I must be willing to change myself, however slowly the change may be happening, in order to truly do the will of God in my life.

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a new spirit of love and forgiveness for myself and those around me, so that I can see the path more clearly that you have laid out before me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

