Wisdom does not cover our sinful nature…

Standard

At least it didn’t work for King Solomon…

Gift:  Wisdom

Scripture:  I do as you requested. I give you a heart so wise and understanding that there has never been anyone like you up to now, and after you there will come no one to equal you.  (1 Kings 3:12)

Observation:  This morning, I loved reading the story of Solomon’s request to God for wisdom in the first reading today.  However, I was haunted by the thought that as wise as Solomon was, why did he have more than one wife?  Never mind all the issues about the foreign wives with the false gods, how could you even contemplate being with more than one woman for the rest of your life?  Don’t get me wrong, I love women and their insight and compassion in all situations is very important in all parts of our lives, but to think that you could be bonded in marriage to more than one person is ludicrous.  

Personification:  Chastity  I will use the story of King Solomon this morning as a reminder to live out my life with the fruit of chastity displayed prominently for all to see.  Even as God graces me with his wisdom, I will try to never forget that I must continually return to him to cleanse me from my sinful nature and allow his grace to guide me toward right relationships with everyone that I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to build loving and caring relationships with the men and women that I come in contact with today, which will help me to live out your call for me to act appropriately with the gift of sexuality.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

