How did he call me?

Standard

Lake of Gennesaret

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  While the crowd was pressing in on Jesus and listening to the word of God, he was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret.  When they brought their boats to the shore, they left everything 2 and followed him.  (Luke 5:1,11)

Observation:  I chose the first and last verse from the Gospel reading from Mass today, because I heard the call of James, John and Peter in the reading of the Gospel today and was reminded of my own call.  To make a long story short, I heard God calling me to ministry when I was working as a salesman for a manufactured home company.  Unfortunately, I have not seen a miracle of Jesus calling me to cast out my net and bring in a bunch of houses, but maybe I have and I just missed it or maybe I am still waiting. 

Personification:  Joy  I will make it my focus today and for the rest of my life to act with the fruit of joy in my life.  Joy in the knowledge that God would call me, a worthless sinner, to do his work with his children.  It is wonderful that I have been given the chance to pass my faith on to my children in a real way, since I get to spend so much time at the church.  The challenge is to listen to the wisdom filled words of my wife who tells me not to get too wrapped up in my work to spend quality time with my family.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be joyful and all times with my family and your church family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

