From the Responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment)

Reading: Better one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere. Better the threshold of the house of my God than a home in the tents of the wicked.  (Psalm 84:11)

Observation: This was an exultation for the Israelites that were going to the dwelling place of the Lord.  I am hearing this morning a renewed call to give glory to the one who brings me to the table of the Lord, because without Him I would never make it.  So, I will rejoice that I have this one day in his courts…

Personification:  Self-Control I am still feeling the need to display the fruit of self-control in my life.  Things have been rather hectic lately, but I need to use that as a rallying point for continuing to improve in the way of controlling my desire to use my time and energy to follow this world, rather than the will of God in my life.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I pray for…

Nanna and Poppa’s spiritual well being, a start for Poppa and a renewal for Nanna.  My joyful wife. Michael Walker’s walk.  Opening my Dad’s eyes to the truth and watching over him.  In the name of Saint Alice, I pray for the blind to see or an increase to their other senses.  For the recently passed family members, especially Derek Burge Sr, Linda Lanier and Alicia Tillman.  (I pray for the repose of their soul…)  For the recently unemployed from Wachovia, Register Guard and others, may they find work to support their families.  Sarah, Robert, Brandon and Alexis, your grace to deal with a terrible situation.  Help me to do your will.  For Ed Weber’s faith.  Father Roy’s preaching to continue to reach out to more people.  My sister Sarah’s continued receipt of wisdom.  Sarah Palin and her family to endure and to be strengthened by the prayers of a grateful nation.  Congress and the President to get our health care system fixed in a way that respects life.  My brother Jeremy getting to a church to worship and being able to come out to Oregon to visit.  I pray for the KLOVE radio ministry.  Derek Burge to continue to be strengthened in the Lord to live with purpose.  Jason Bandy getting in touch with his faith.  Joshua and Sheldon to be strengthened in their faith.  Lee being open to understanding his faith more completely.  Grandma Maria and Grandpa Ray to be made stronger in health by your grace.  Luis Avila and Azalea Lopez to be strengthened in their journey toward the Sacrament of Confirmation.  I ask this, as I always do, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “From the Responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass…

Leave a Reply

