Isn’t it astonishing that we are not sinning right now?

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  They were exceedingly astonished and they said, “He has done all things well. He makes the deaf hear and (the) mute speak.”  (Mark 7:37)

Observation:  This morning, I came to the conclusion that we should be thankful at all times for the grace that God has supplied us with that we are not constantly in a state of sinful activity.  It is only by the grace of God that we do not carry those sinful thoughts that creep into our heads to their conclusion, and when we do carry them through to their conclusion, it is only by his grace that we are saved from their eternal condemnation of our souls.  I was struck this morning by the thought that we should be astonished, as sinful creatures, that the Lord has saved us at every moment of every day that we are not in some state of sin.  When we do get carried away by our sinful nature, we should remember that it is nothing more that a choice to take some action that is not as good as something else that we could be doing and call on God’s grace to lead us to make a better decision when faced with that situation the next time.

Personification:  Joy  I am reminded of the song that my boys love to sing that perfectly demonstrates how I would like to display the fruit of joy in my life today and for the rest of my life.  I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart, yeah, down in my heart, yeah, down in my heart…I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart…down in my heart to stay…Anyway, I hope that by the grace of God that I can carry this tune and the real fruit of joy in my heart throughout this day and on into this weekend.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay joyful at all times today and through whatever comes my way for the rest of my life.  Please remain with me, so I can remain astonished at the fact that you have given me the grace necessary to stay away from sin in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

