Persevere in temptation…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  Blessed is the man who perseveres in temptation, 6 for when he has been proved he will receive the crown of life that he promised to those who love him.  (James 1:12)

Observation:  The author of James makes it very clear here that not only would we be blessed for persevering in temptation, but that we would gain eternal life.  I am not clear on which of these readings is more clearly referring to the here and now, the first reading or the Gospel reading today, but I do believe that one of them is referring to what life will be like right now if we can resist our temptation to give in to our desires.  I do believe this is a process that we go through in order to accomplish it, but the reward is pretty awesome.

Personification:  Modesty  I feel like I really don’t need to show off my connections or my wealth anymore.  As far as the wealth, I never really had it, but the connections were something that I always loved to brag about.  However, the people that I hang with now, know me for who I am and hopefully for who God is still providing the grace for me to become.  I believe that if I can persevere through temptation, then God will reveal me to be the person he wants me to be and I won’t need to talk about it.

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to create in me a new being that is capable of resisting temptation that comes into my life because of my own desire and allow me to shine your light into more people’s lives.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

