Choose life…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment)

Readings: Choose life, then, that you and your descendants may live,  (Deuteronomy 30:19b)

&

Then he said to all, “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily 11 and follow me.  (Luke 9:23)

Observation: If anyone wants to get mad at me for being so loud and obnoxious about the fact that as a culture or society we should be following the will of God rather than creating a culture of death, they should get mad at Moses and Jesus first.  It was Moses that originally said that we should choose life, and it was Jesus that told us that we should take up our cross daily and follow him.  I realize that both of these scripture verses can be explained differently based on the context of the rest of the chapter.  I am hearing today the call to open the battle lines in Springfield, Oregon to show our God that we heard his word and I know why he sent his son to save me.

Personification:  Goodness I will need the grace and peace of our Lord to accomplish displaying the fruit of goodness in my life.  I do have a real desire to live a holy life and to set a good example by my conduct where I am.  I will drive by the Planned Parenthood office today in Springfield and I will park in the parking lot and say a rosary today for all of those women that are facing a difficult decision to be strengthened by our lady’s intercession and that the men that have done their part in creation of these children will be strengthened as well by our lady’s intercession to follow through with supporting the mother of their child.

Prayer: Lord, give me the strength today and for the rest of my life to follow your will for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

