How do we appeal to Caesar?

Standard

However we have appealed to Caesar, we should be willing to accept what comes next?

Scripture:  Agrippa said to Festus, “This man could have been set free if he had not appealed to Caesar.”  (Acts 26:32)

Observation:  When I first read the end of the chapter, I was reminded of how Paul could have been set free here and I was wondering what would have changed in his ministry, had he not appealed to Ceasar.   In my own life, I can look back on certain things that I could have done that would have changed the course of my life rather drastically.  I could have told my Mom that I did not want to miss my mid term exams and skipped her wedding and probably passed that Navigation course with a B, instead of the C-, which caused the terms of my probation at the academy to be violated and I didn’t finish my degree. 

Application:  However, I would not have come to Oregon to work with my friend and would probably never have met my wife and probably never had my three amazing boys.  What I am trying to say is that no matter what decision we make when we are acting in the will of God, we should not question it.  Like Paul and all the other prophets and apostles before him, God has great plans for us, plans for our prosperity and not for our calamity.  I should trust God and not question the past, but rather act on the present in the best way I know how, by following the will of God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to follow your will more closely in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

