A reminder of where we should be today…and every Sunday…at the least…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  The priest shall then receive the basket from you and shall set it in front of the altar of the LORD, your God.  (Deuteronomy 26:4)

Observation:  Today, I am hearing the reminder in the first reading to be aware of all of rich symbolism that exists in our celebration of Mass.  This historical account from the book of Deuteronomy is just one example of how we can trace our faith back to the faith of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.  When our Priest receives the offering basket, we should be asking ourselves if we have truly given our first fruits to the Lord.

Personification:  Love (Charity)  I would love to be given the grace to act with the fruit of love and charity today and for the rest of my life in all situations and to all people.  I know that this is only possible for the one that is without sin, however, that is not going to stop me from striving for it.  With the grace of God, I will actually be able to show his love to someone today.

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a heart that is capable of loving everyone where they are at and please help me do this today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

