The 23rd Psalm…

Standard

It is not the ideal translation, but the pictures of Oregon made it the best…

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading:  Responsorial Psalm
23:1-3a, 4, 5, 6
R.  (1)  The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.
The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
In verdant pastures he gives me repose;
Beside restful waters he leads me;
he refreshes my soul.
R.        The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.
Even though I walk in the dark valley
I fear no evil; for you are at my side
With your rod and your staff
that give me courage.
R.        The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.
You spread the table before me
in the sight of my foes;
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
R.        The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.
Only goodness and kindness follow me
all the days of my life;
And I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
for years to come.
R.        The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want.

Observation:  In selecting a reading for today to journal on, I felt moved by the whole Responsorial Psalm.  Since, I was watching a movie this weekend called Liberty Heights and I witnessed the children in the movie praying this Psalm in the morning before class started in their public school.  Although the scene was in the 60’s in Baltimore during integration and the movie is not the best movie for showing the best methods of raising our children, it is still a great example of some of the good things that existed when we all, including our Jewish brothers and sisters, were not afraid to put our faith on display in public.

Personification: Peace It is my focus today and the rest of my life to act with the fruit of peace in my heart in all the things that I endeavor to accomplish.  With the grace of God working with me, I know that nothing is impossible and it is my goal to be able to act with this knowledge giving me peace to quiet my soul.

Prayer: Lord, you indeed lead me in you ways and I need your help to continue to follow your will for me in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

