What is our sackcloth?

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  when the people of Nineveh believed God; they proclaimed a fast and all of them, great and small, put on sackcloth.  (Jonah 3:5)

&

At the judgment the men of Nineveh will arise with this generation and condemn it, because at the preaching of Jonah they repented, and there is something greater than Jonah here.  (Luke 11:32)

Observation:  I was wondering this morning what this sackcloth must have felt like that the Ninevites wore.  I can imagine that it was not comfortable, except in the fact that they knew that they needed to humble themselves before the Lord and that might have felt good after so much wandering away from him.  I was left with the question that became the title of my post today, “What is our sackcloth?”  As Jesus says, we know of a greater Prophet than Jonah that is telling us to repent, so how much greater should our sign of humility be?

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  This morning, humility is taking on a new meaning for me.  I feel like the only way for me to act with the humility and gentleness that the Holy Spirit is empowering me to act with, is to completely surrender my will to the Father in all things and all ways today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory, my understanding, and my entire will.
All I have and call my own.
Whatever I have or hold, you have given me.
I restore it all to you and surrender it wholly to be governed by your will.
Give me only your love and grace and I am rich enough and ask for nothing more.

In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

(I have to give credit to Saint Ignatius of Loyola for the prayer and St Mary’s of Danville, NJ for posting it online.)

Leave a Reply

