Am I called to be a disciple or just a follower?

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  But if the wicked man turns away from all the sins he committed, if he keeps all my statutes and does what is right and just, he shall surely live, he shall not die.  (Ezekiel 18:21)

&

Jesus said to his disciples:  “I tell you, unless your righteousness surpasses that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will not enter into the Kingdom of heaven.  (Matthew 5:20)

Observation:  The Old Testament reading is hard to read in light of my own sinful nature that I struggle with.  However, I am hearing this morning that I should look to the faithful Jewish people for an example of how someone who has been chosen to lead his people should act.  Also, if Jesus came to fulfill the law and not to abolish it, shouldn’t I be trying to display what an example of that fulfillment looks like?

Personification:  Kindness  This fruit is described in the format for journaling, that I got from a resource online, as the strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service.  I sincerely hope that I can display this fruit in my life today and the grace of God leads me to display this fruit of kindness more fully for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to show kindness to others, and continue to keep me in your graces so that I can be an example of your love to others forever and ever.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

