Be perfect…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  So be perfect, 30 just as your heavenly Father is perfect.  (Matthew 5:48)

Observation:  As for my actions and how they relate to the commandments that are given to me by God, I think God is calling me to be perfect.  In the season of Lent, which we are in right now, I feel like I should be changing into the person that God is calling me to be.  This Gospel reading today is a reminder to do all of the things that will put into practice the kind of disciple of Jesus that I want to be.

Personification:  Love (Charity)  The love that comes from the Holy Spirit is a love that knows what others need before they ask for it, I want to display that love today.  My wife has this ability, and I will try and observe the way she does this and use her example to display the fruit of love and charity more fully in my life today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me remember today that I am a creature that was created in your image to love everyone that I come in contact with.  Please help me remember the words of your beloved creature, Mother Teresa, who said that if you are judging someone, it makes it harder to love them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

