Do not reject the cross…]

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading: 11 Join with others in being imitators of me, 12 brothers, and observe those who thus conduct themselves according to the model you have in us. (Phillipians 3:17)

Observation: Paul does not say these words to his followers in Phillipi to boast, he says them to say that since they know him as a disciple of Jesus Christ, they should imitate him in his acceptance of the suffering that he is enduring for the cross.  People have told me that suffering is not necessary and you should ask God for anything that you want, and the universe will give it to you…However, God in his infinite wisdom, will not grant this request if it does not go along with the plan of salvation that he has for even one of his children.  Therefore, I should ask and know that God may very well allow me to keep suffering my cross for the sake of building his kingdom, and I should make joyful noises and praise him for allowing me my suffering.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) As it says on the format for journaling page, I should put up with the injuries, slights and outrages of life, because I know that God loves me.  I will choose to display this fruit today by keeping a positive attitude about all of the sufferings that may come along in my life, because I know that he means them to bring greater glory to his name and to continue to build his kingdom and who am I to stand in the way of that.

Prayer: Lord, please allow me to suffer today and for the rest of my life in silence, so that everyone around me knows that I have accepted my cross and I want for nothing but to do your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

