Am I listening?

Standard

Gift: Knowledge

Readings:  (First Reading)

I, the LORD, alone probe the mind and test the heart, To reward everyone according to his ways, according to the merit of his deeds.  (Jeremiah 17:10)

(Responsorial Psalm)

Happy those who do not follow the counsel of the wicked, Nor go the way of sinners, nor sit in company with scoffers.  (Psalm 1:1)

(Gospel)

Then Abraham said, ‘If they will not listen to Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded if someone should rise from the dead.’”  (Luke 16:31)

Observation: What a wonderful opportunity to focus on the Word today.  I should be taking the whole day off, because of the weekend that is planned for me on retreat with the middle schoolers from our Parish.  Anyway, I am hopefully hearing today that I should stay focused on the words that come from the prophets and Jesus and make sure that I am listening and following through on what is asked of me…

Personification: Faith/Fidelity I will display today the faith/fidelity that comes from the Holy Spirit today and for the rest of my life.  It is not that I want to show off, but rather that I want to be following the will of God in my life and the only way that I know how to do that is to have faith that he is working, no matter where he has me.

Prayer: Lord, help me to be more faithful to you in all areas of my life and never give up hope that you are working on every aspect of my faith.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

