You are not far from it…

Standard

Scripture: An when Jesus saw that (he) answered with understanding, he said to him, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.”  And no one dared to ask him any more questions.  (Mark 12:34)

Observation: It is the response of the scribe that ellicits the response from Jesus, telling him that he is not far from the Kingdom of God.  I believe it is telling me that I must continue to be willing to respond to the word of God if I am going to hear the words from Jesus telling me that I am not far from the Kingdom of God.  It is incredible how he could reduce them to silence with his responses to their questions.

Application: I am feeling today that I should focus on His words, so that whenever my adversaries come after me, I can use his words to reduce them to silence.  Of course, I immediately think about our Lord’s fate and know that it may be difficult to follow him there.

Prayer: Lord, give me the strength I need to persevere in all the trials of my life and to follow your example in all aspects of my life.  Please continue to supply me with the grace necessary to stay in your Word at all times.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “You are not far from it…

Leave a Reply

