How am I brought low, and shouldn’t I embrace it?

Standard

 

 

 

 As everyone who knows me knows, I love to post the videos of the Pope, and I hope you can see the parallel to my journal today…

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  When he began the accounting, a debtor was brought before him who owed him a huge amount.  Since he had no way of paying it back, his master ordered him to be sold, along with his wife, his children, and all his property, in payment of the debt. At that, the servant fell down, did him homage, and said, ‘Be patient with me, and I will pay you back in full.’  Moved with compassion the master of that servant let him go and forgave him the loan.

Should you not have had pity on your fellow servant, as I had pity on you?‘  (Matthew 18:24-27,33)

Observation:  As I am reading the Gospel reading for today’s Mass this morning, I was thinking about how I try and look with compassion on those that do me wrong.  It is not easy to do, but I know it is the right thing to do.  It is not my job to hold someone accountable for their actions.  It is between them and God, and I will only be judged on my ability to forgive them, as it relates to how God forgave me, which is a pretty tall order.

Application:  Patience  If I can display this fruit in my life, I feel like it would help others be able to forgive the people who do them wrong.  Patience being the ability to handle frustration in the face of adversity without becoming annoyed.  Also, no matter what comes my way, I need to act with patience to show that I trust God to bring me through it.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to be able to display the fruit of patience in my life today and for the rest of my life, so you can show others how you are doing work in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

