I need only walk in his path…(sounds easy enough, right?;)

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading: (From the Responsorial Psalm)

 But even now if my people would listen, if Israel would walk in my paths,

But Israel I would feed with the finest wheat, satisfy them with honey from the rock.”  (Psalm 81:14-17)

Observation:  I am reading this morning that God is calling Israel to walk in his paths through the Psalmist who wrote this 81st psalm.  The reward is that God is going to reward Israel with the finest wheat, satisfy them with honey from the rock.  Lately, I have been hearing a call to see myself as Israel when the readings are speaking of it, and see that God is calling me to the same obedience that he called Israel too.  The difference is that I have Jesus to be my rock to show me the path to redemption through repentance and prayer.

Application:  Chastity  This is a difficult fruit to display in our oversexed culture.  However, I feel a special call today and for the rest of my life to build a more intimate relationship with my wife and my friends, so that when God is calling me to display this fruit in my life and act appropriately with my gift of sexuality, I will be ready to answer that call at all times.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of chastity in my life today and help me to create loving and caring relationships with others, so that I can act appropriately with my gift of sexuality.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

(Matthew 12:34 from last week’s journal was the ending of the Gospel reading for Mass today…)

Leave a Reply

