Please be merciful to me a sinner…

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Readings:  Have mercy on me, God, in your goodness; in your abundant compassion blot out my offense.

Wash away all my guilt; from my sin cleanse me.  (Psalm 51:3-4)

&

But the tax collector stood off at a distance and would not even raise his eyes to heaven but beat his breast and prayed, ‘O God, be merciful to me a sinner.’  (Luke 18:13)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning that Jesus did not come so that I could walk around with my chest puffed out and be proud of the great catholic man that he created in me.  My focus should be on the work that he still has to do to free me from my sinful nature.  Whether or not that can be done in this life is immaterial to the case, because the fact is that he does still have work to do in me.

Application:  Humility (Gentleness)  It is my focus today and the rest of my life to display the fruit of humility and gentleness at all times.  Regardless of the successes in my life, the glory and praise should always go to God.  In order to display this fruit of humility (gentleness), I will need the grace of God to keep away my pride.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for allowing me my sin to keep me humble, but create in me a new spirit of humility so that I can better follow your will for me in my life and be a better example to all of those people I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

