Jesus is calling us to civil disobedience?

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge 

Reading:  Jesus said to him, “Rise, take up your mat, and walk.”  (John 5:8)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning a specific call to me to not be as concerned about the legal ramifications of my faith.  Specifically, I am hearing Jesus say to this man that he should rise and take up his mat, and walk.  He did not say, be careful not to be seen by the Jewish leaders that would persecute you for walking with your mat.  He could have said, rise and walk and it would have been no less of a miracle.

Application:  Faith/Fidelity  I am feeling today a renewed sense of what it means to be faithful to the Word of God.  Jesus said the the man to take up his mat and walk, and he is saying to me today to walk in the light of faith with my head held high.  The faith I am feeling called to today is not ashamed of the fact that I am not the best example of where a 38 year old man could be in his faith, because I know that God can accomplish the work that he started in me regardless of how willing I have been in the past to cooperate with him. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me remember always that you have begun a good work in me and my future is completely in your hands, which gives me hope for myself and my family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

