Rejoice in the great light…

Standard

Gift: Understanding

Scripture: He was a burning and shining lamp, 13 and for a while you were content to rejoice in his light.  (John 5:35)

Observation: Today, I am hearing Jesus say that John the Baptist was the lamp that was telling of the coming of the great one.  Although, the Jews were content to rejoice in his light, Jesus is calling me to even greater rejoicing because the one that John was talking about has come and is still here today.  God has brought down his kingdom to all of those who willingly participate in his celebration by the power of his grace as a free gift to us all.

Application:  Joy This fruit is explained as the ability to celebrate life in the midst of pain and confusion.  The truth is that the pain and confusion are temporary, but the kingdom of heaven is eternal.  It is time to party and I am not going to wait another day to start showing my willingness to participate in the celebration that God has given us in the sacrifice of his son to redeem us for our sins and bring about the kingdom right now.

Prayer: Lord, help me to celebrate that you have redeemed me for my sins and allow me the grace to display the joy that comes from that mystery.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

