Solemnity of Saint Joseph…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  When Joseph awoke, he did as the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took his wife into his home.  (Matthew 1:24)

Observation:  I don’t really understand why the online version of this Gospel reading says that this is verse 24a, because all of verse 24 is used in the reading.  Anyway, I am hearing this morning that Saint Joseph was a great example to us because he did what the angel had commanded him to do, regardless of how crazy he may have thought it was at the time.

Application:  Self-Control  This morning, I am hearing the call to display this fruit of self-control in my personal life as well as my work life.  It is true that my personal life and work life are intermingled most of the time, but I must remember to make time for the things that I know are most important to my family and my God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to put everything in its proper perspective and make time for the people that are most important to my calling as a husband and father first.  Saint Joseph, pray that I may be a better husband to my wife and father to my boys whenever they need me, like you were there for Mary and Jesus.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Solemnity of Saint Joseph…

Leave a Reply

