I would be mad at King Hezekiah, if it wasn’t for Jesus…

Standard

File:Åhus kyrka-10.jpg

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  6 Moses accordingly made a bronze serpent and mounted it on a pole, and whenever anyone who had been bitten by a serpent looked at the bronze serpent, he recovered.  (Numbers 21:9)

Observation:  After reading all of the readings this morning for Mass today, I was left with the impression of how awesome this staff that Moses made must have looked.  However, in the footnotes from the verse above, it says that King Hezekiah had the staff destroyed to stop all forms of idolatry.  It is my understanding that King Hezekiah was a reformer in the Jewish church that did a lot to bring the chosen people back to God.  I might still be angry with him for destroying such an amazing relic in the history of our faith, if I hadn’t remembered the fact that Jesus perfected this symbol of saving us from destruction from the serpent in his crucifixion.

Application:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude)  I always feel somewhat guilty when I choose to display the fruit of long-suffering (positive attitude) because I feel like  I have such an amazing life that I have no reason to say that I am suffering.  Especially, in the light of all of the real suffering that is presently going on in the world.  However, I will do my best to display the fruit of a positive attitude in the face of the fact that everything does not work out immediately in a way that would allow me to more fully give glory to God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of long-suffering with your grace that I need to bear the trials that I am sure my life will continue to be full of.  Thank you Lord for everything you have given me and I am sorry for not always putting your will first in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

