The truth will set you free…

Standard

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Reading: If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  (John 8:31b-32)

Observation: I am hearing today the admonition to stay in the word.  If it is true that all we need to do to be disciples is to stay in the word, than what are we waiting for?  I skipped my regular reading of the bible this morning, because I was in such a hurry to make it to Mass.  Don’t get me wrong, I believe that being present for Mass and punctuality are important, but if I am neglecting staying in the word for any reason, I need to reexamine where my priorities are.

Application: Kindness In order to allow Christ’s love to bring me to greater service, I must realize that Christ is truly present in the Eucharist and therefore truly present in my body since I received the Eucharist at Mass this morning.  Service to my family will come first, and then I must allow the love of Christ to lead us to a greater service to our fellow man.

Prayer: Lord, help me to allow your light to shine through me to my family and then open our hearts to the ways you would have us bring your light to others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

