How am I like Judas?

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment)

Reading:  He said this not because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief and held the money bag and used to steal the contributions.  (John 12:6)

Observation:  This is the verse that jumped out at me this morning because it is hard for me to believe that anyone in the presence of our Lord would have stolen contributions.  I don’t know if this is John’s commentary on how the disciples of Jesus should have seen it coming that this Judas was going to betray Jesus, or this verse is meant to point out just how insidious our sinful nature is…Hopefully, now that we know that we have a Savior who not only raised Lazarus from the dead, but was resurrected himself on the third day, we can be different than who we were before our eyes were opened.

Application:  Chastity  I know that I am not capable of stealing from the contributions like John explained that Judas did, however I know that I am perfectly capable of falling into sin that relates to lust and not always acting appropriately with my gift of sexuality.  If I am not going to be like Judas, I need to always act as if I believe that Jesus Christ is right beside me at all times, like he was beside Judas, and with the grace that I am given from the reception of the body of Christ be able to resist the temptation to sin.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to allow the new habits that you have created in me to become the new me that you are creating.  I know that it is only with your grace that comes to me freely that I can resist the temptation to fall into sin.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “How am I like Judas?

Leave a Reply

