Surely it is not I, Rabbi?

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  13 Then Judas, his betrayer, said in reply, “Surely it is not I, Rabbi?” He answered, “You have said so.”  (Matthew 26:25)

Observation:  Today, in the Gospel reading, because of the objection of Judas was so simple and plain, Jesus says he is basically admitting that he is the one who will betray him.  How often do I object to the fact that I am a sinner?  I am hearing today Jesus say to me that it is in that objection to the fact that I am a sinner that I display my need for  the redemption of the Savior saying to me, “You have said so!”  Since, I would rather not hear my Lord say these words to me, I will try and remain fully aware of my sinfulness and ask for Jesus to cleanse me of all my sin and create in me a new spirit of repentance.

Application:  Patience – Enables us to handle frustration and conflict without becoming unduly edgy or annoyed.  It is my desire today and for the rest of my life to display the fruit of patience in all areas of my life.  Today, like always, I believe that unless I am able to be about the work of Jesus Christ with patience, God will have to find new and different ways to build the fruit of patience in me. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient with my family and their lack of focus on the call to holiness of all the disciples of Jesus Christ.  Please create in me a new spirit of repentance and allow me to see your face in everyone I meet.  I ask this as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

