Jesus gives us the power, but does not take our free will…

Standard

Gift:  Understanding

Reading:  Judas his betrayer also knew the place, because Jesus had often met there with his disciples.  (John 18:2)

&

(Lk 23:46) Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

Into your hands I commend my spirit;

you will redeem me, O LORD, O faithful God.  (Psalm 31:6)

Observation:  The first verse from the Gospel reading for today is completing the diatribe that I have been on for the past five days about Judas and his role in the salvation story and how his story relates to our story.  I believe the response in the Responsorial Psalm and the sixth verse in the 31st Psalm from today’s Mass readings is the perfect answer that Jesus gave to his passion and is also calling us to give to our own temptation to sin.  Unlike Judas who followed through with His plan to force Jesus into his plan of the salvation that he was hoping he would bring to Jerusalem, we are called to commend our spirit into the hands of the Father and trust that His will for our salvation is much better than ours could ever be.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity  It is my intention today and for the rest of my life to display the fruit of faith and fidelity to the Word of God at all times by sticking to my work and staying committed to God and God’s people to whom I am connected.  After the readings today, I am keenly aware of the fact that God expects me to give myself fully to His will and the faith that He has built in me will allow me to do that for the rest of the time that I am left in this world, if I keep my will out of the way.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to live in the moment but always be mindful of the glorious reward that awaits us in the next world.  I do not want to wait to enjoy your glory and hope that you reveal your glory to me on earth while the world waits for you to bring your redemption and judgment at your second coming.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

