Pictures of His resurrection…the celebration is just beginning…

Standard
'The Resurrection' by Anton Laurids Johannes Dorph (© Superstock/Getty Images)

From the front page of MSN.com this morning...

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  When Simon Peter arrived after him, he went into the tomb and saw the burial cloths 6 there, and the cloth that had covered his head, not with the burial cloths but rolled up in a separate place.  Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed. (John 20:6-8)

Observation:  This morning, I am focusing on the fact that this is the beginning of the story, not the conclusion.  Although, the other disciple believed in John’s Gospel story, the other Gospels don’t even mention that he was there with Peter when he went into the tomb.  The end of the Easter story will come at Pentecost when Jesus sends the Holy Spirit to be like a fire that comes forth from his disciples.  Our fasting in union with the suffering of Jesus Christ may have ended last night, but the whole story of his resurrection will unfold over the next few weeks…Stay tuned to his word at Mass, because it is a cause for great joy.  Alleluiah…Alleluiah…

Personification:  Joy  Today, I will be trying to focus on displaying the fruit of joy in all areas of my life.  I am overjoyed that Jesus died for my sins, and even more overjoyed that He rose on the third day and the most overjoyed that He promised to come again.  Why?  I can’t wait to spend eternity with God.  I will work tirelessly on earth to try and bring the fruit of joy to others by preaching the Good News of Jesus resurrection to everyone that I meet, no matter what my enemies may do.

Prayer:  Lord, help me be truly present at all times when you are revealing your truth to me in my life and the lives of others around me.  Please help me react with the spirit of joy in my heart.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

From yesterday’s journal entry…

One thought on “Pictures of His resurrection…the celebration is just beginning…

Leave a Reply

