Fearful, yet overjoyed…

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading:   Then they went away quickly from the tomb, fearful yet overjoyed, and ran to announce 5 this to his disciples. 6 And behold, Jesus met them on their way and greeted them. They approached, embraced his feet, and did him homage.  Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go tell my brothers to go to Galilee, and there they will see me.”  (Matthew 28:8-10)

Observation:  This morning’s Gospel gives me a better understanding of the spiritual gift of fear of the lord or wonder and awe.  Although, it is true that I am overjoyed that my Lord has risen from the dead, I am fearful, probably in much the same way the women in the Gospel today are fearful, because of what my belief means to my immediate future.  Since I run around telling people that I am a believer in the resurrection, people of this world think I am a religious fanatic that spends my time praying to a God that I cannot see.  The Word says that I will most likely be persecuted for my faith, if I haven’t been already?  Still, that is a cause for joy because Jesus said that I will be blessed if I am persecuted because of Him, and looking back at my life, I have truly been blessed.

Personification:  Kindness  I have found myself getting rather angry with the youth lately for not taking their faith seriously.  I will try and let the words from the Gospel permeate my being to allow me to act only with the fruit of kindness to everyone I meet, including the young people, in order that the Holy Spirit can lead me to a greater life of service to my church and my fellow brothers and sisters.

Prayer:  Lord, watch over me to keep me in the faith at all times and let your Word be an integral part of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a comment