Repent and be baptized…It’s good news!

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  Peter (said) to them, “Repent and be baptized, 7 every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the holy Spirit.  For the promise is made to you and to your children and to all those far off, whomever the Lord our God will call.”  (Acts 2:38-39)

Observation:  I read these verses yesterday when I was reading the previous day’s first reading.  It is still catching me off guard that we would be reading about the Pentecost when Easter was only two days ago.  Then again, we celebrate the fact that Jesus Christ is risen on Sat/Sun, and we won’t start hearing that story in the Gospel about his actual presence in the flesh after his death until today’s Gospel.  This morning, I am reading that Peter and the apostles were still preaching the same message that John the Baptist was preaching, only now it has deeper meaning.  Repentance is a positive concept, a change of mind and heart toward God reflected in the actual goodness of one’s life.  (from the footnotes in the New American Bible – online version – see footnotes 7 above – it’s hyperlinked.)

Personification  Goodness  The fruit that was chosen for me to display today is goodness.  It is true that I will always need the grace of God to display this fruit.  However, I am hearing this morning in the first reading from the Acts of the Apostles that this goodness will spring forth from a true conversion of heart and mind toward a loving God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to follow your will in my life more exactly by helping me to act with goodness out of a true spirit of repentance.  Please help me to stay positive in all areas of my life and especially when it comes to your ministry with our children.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Repent and be baptized…It’s good news!

Leave a Reply

