Can we hear and see our Lord on the road?

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  5 6Now that very day two of them were going to a village seven miles from Jerusalem called Emmaus, and they were conversing about all the things that had occurred.  And it happened that while they were conversing and debating, Jesus himself drew near and walked with them, 7 but their eyes were prevented from recognizing him.  Then the two recounted what had taken place on the way and how he was made known to them in the breaking of the bread.  (Luke 24:13-16,35)

Observation:  I didn’t get a chance to journal on this Gospel last Sunday because I was not prepared to present it in a way that the youth would understand it on Sunday night, but here is the same Gospel reading again.  I guess I am hearing that I need to present this to the youth, and I need to take the time necessary to present it to the younger ones tonight, as well as the older youth on Sunday.  I have already been running over in my head different ways that I could tell the story to the Religious Education young people and also the youth that are preparing for Confirmation on Sunday.  I would recommend that you read the story, and even if you have heard it before, read it again as if you are in the story and Jesus is coming to your home and imagine how that would make you feel and how does it make you want to change what you look like for the next time you meet him? 

Personification:  Chastity  I want to focus today on the first part of the explanation of this fruit of the Holy Spirit today.  I need God’s grace to continue to build loving and caring relationships into my life, so that I will always be able to act appropriately with my gift of sexuality.  I have found myself focusing on this fruit in the past when something would catch my eye that probably shouldn’t have and I spent too much time looking at it.  Right now, I find myself wanting to truly set myself in right relationship with God and with the people that he puts in my life, so that I can feel his love from them and hopefully keep myself from acting inappropriately in the future.

Prayer:  Lord, walk with me at all times in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

