He appeared to them…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  (But) later, as the eleven were at table, he appeared to them and rebuked them for their unbelief and hardness of heart because they had not believed those who saw him after he had been raised.  (Mark 16:14)

Observation:  Although, it may be clear that Mark did not write this ending in the Gospel, the other accounts of his appearance to the apostles show that he was clearly showing that he wanted to be present in the flesh after his death and resurrection.  Sure, it would be enough for me to believe that he ascended into to heaven, but if he hadn’t intended on leaving us some form of himself in his body and blood of Christ and also give the accounts of doubting Thomas sticking his fingers in the holes of his piercings, I would have a hard time accepting that the suffering that he underwent was for me.  As human beings, we all need to feel the physical presence of someone in our lives in order to experience the fact that they truly love us, or maybe that is just me…

Personification:  Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  I will focus on displaying the fruit of modesty today and the rest of my life.  It is important to remind myself and others that nothing happens good in my life, except for the Lord.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on where you want me to be and the work that you are accomplishing through me and not on my own agenda.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “He appeared to them…

  1. rosary student

    Is saying the Rosary Prayer important to you? If so, please take part in this anonymous online research study to provide more understanding about the place of the Rosary Prayer in Catholics’ lives. This doctoral research is intended to provide information that can help mental health professionals to better serve their Catholic clients. Thank you for your help. https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/RosaryResearch

Leave a Reply

