Happy are all who take refuge in God! (Psalm 2:11d)

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  “I myself have installed my king on Zion, my holy mountain.”  (Psalm 2:6)

Observation:  In the first reading today, the apostles raised their voices in praise of the Lord with the words of King David from the 2nd Psalm that we are also using for our Responsorial in today’s Mass readings.  The verse that I chose to journal on today from the Responsorial Psalm is the sixth verse, because although the Jewish leaders of Jesus time looked at this 2nd Psalm as a reminder that their King is installed by God, it is easy to see an even more powerful King that is installed by God to sit on the throne of Heaven.  His name is Jesus.  In the face of the Jewish leaders that were telling them to stop preaching in Jesus’ name, the apostles prayed and were given the holy Spirit to be their guide to continue to speak the word of God with boldness. (see Acts 4:31b)

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.   It will be my focus today and for the rest of my life to see the world through Jesus’ eyes and act accordingly.  I believe that showing this love or charity only comes through the grace and power of God.  I hope that God continues to supply me with the grace necessary to display this love to everyone that I meet.

Prayer:  Lord, show me what you want me to do in all situations today and for the rest of my life.  I surrender my will completely to you and allow you to control my future.  Please help me to stay in the moment and act according to your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

