What’s mine is yours…?

Standard

Gift:  Understanding

Reading:  6 The community of believers was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common.  (Acts 4:32)

Observation:  I remember hearing, on occasion, when I was growing up and I would go to a Christian friend’s home, the friend’s Mom or Dad would tell me what’s ours is yours.  I am hearing this verse from the Acts of the Apostles in that way this morning.  I usually look at this story in the light of how amazing it is that the early Christian family would sell all they had and place it at the feet of the Apostles.  This morning, I am seeing that recently in our own history, we still carried on the tradition of this collective mind as it related to our possessions.  However, it has all but disappeared for some reason from our “Christian” society.  In our attempt to not be exclusive of any other religions, we have lost what it means to be a follower of Christ.  I don’t think we need to sell everything we own and give it to the church, but we need to remember that our relationships with other people are more important that any possession that we own.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  I am seeing this morning that I need to display in my life a true spirit of humility.  I have journaled before about making sure that I give glory to God for all that I have, in terms of talents and possessions, I believe.  However, today I am going to try and focus on the possessions that I have and not to take them for granted, but be willing to give them away.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay committed to putting everything I own in your control.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

