“This is the work of God, that you believe in the one he sent.”

Standard
[32100.jpg]Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)Reading:    Jesus answered them and said, “Amen, amen, I say to you, you are looking for me not because you saw signs but because you ate the loaves and were filled.  Do not work for food that perishes but for the food that endures for eternal life, 15 which the Son of Man will give you. For on him the Father, God, has set his seal.”  So they said to him, “What can we do to accomplish the works of God?”  Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in the one he sent.”  (john 6:26-29)

Observation:  So my very basic interpretation of these Gospel verses today is that we can be sure that we are accomplishing the works of God in our lives if we believe in the Son.  The first thing that came to my mind after reading the readings this morning is that Jesus is the one who gave us the Eucharist, and believing in him should include a passion for eating the bread of life and drinking from the eternal cup of salvation.  If you read past the last verse in the reading in the holy Gospel accoring to John today, specifically verses 30-34 in the 6th chapter, you will see that Jesus points out that he is the bread of life and his disciples ask him to give them this bread always.

Personification:  Chastity – Able to form loving and caring friendships, which help us to act appropriately with our gift of sexuality.  (¡que Dios te bendiga! God bless you!)  Reading the story of the Blessed Luchesio and Buonadonna this morning, gives me hope that I could someday be able to give myself completely to God and still be a married man.  I guess the important part of their story for me this morning is that he had to make his decision to commit himself to giving away all of his possessions or she may never have seen the miracle of the extra bread in the pantry when he asked her to give a poor man some bread.  I may not be able to give away all of my possessions because of our children and their future, but I can choose to live a life of poverty for myself.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see the value of the simple life for me and my family and allow me to give myself completely to your will at all times.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

