If you have seen the Son and believe it is truly him, you have eternal life…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  17Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.  But I told you that although you have seen (me), you do not believe.  Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me.  And this is the will of the one who sent me, that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it (on) the last day.  For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have eternal life, and I shall raise him (on) the last day.”  (John 6:35-40)

Observation:  The Gospel reading for today starts out with Jesus saying that he is the bread of life, and anyone who comes to him will never hunger and if we truly believe we will not thirst.  The Gospel reading for today ends with the fact that anyone who sees him and believes will not only have eternal life, but they will be raised on the last day.  I am left this morning with the overwhelming feeling that my life is supposed to be significantly different because I believe that I have the ability to see the Son in Communion on a daily basis, and it is the fact that I do believe that it is truly his body and blood in the Eucharist that gives me this eternal (different) life.

Personification:  Kindness – The strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service.  Today, I will focus on displaying the fruit of kindness that will come as a direct result of Christ’s love for me in the Eucharist.  If I am going to be called to greater service, I must be receiving God’s grace that flows from the Sacraments.  I am thankful that it is possible for me to participate in the Mass today and be present for our Lord in this wonderful celebration.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay faithful to your Word and be present for the Eucharist whenever it is possible.  Please accept my apologies for taking your gift for granted in the past and help me work today to build up your kingdom by staying faithful to your holy gift to us in your Body and Blood.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

