Why wait? Don’t question the call, act…

Standard

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Reading: Then he ordered the chariot to stop, and Philip and the eunuch both went down into the water, and he baptized him.  (Acts 8:38)

Observation: This morning, I was given the opportunity to bring my son to work with me today.  He asked me yesterday if he could come to work with me today, since it is National Take Your Child to Work Day.  The final close that he used on me was, “but Dad, I could go to Mass with you in the morning.”  I am journaling this because of the way that I see the similarities to how the eunuch asked Philip to be baptized, and how my son asked me to participate in the Eucharist.  It would be easy to say that the eunuch was not prepared to be baptized, as much as you could say my son just wanted to skip school today.

Personification: Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected. Regardless of how I may feel about how challenging it is to have my son at work with me all day, I know that the call for him to share in the Eucharist is more important than any annoyance I may feel from him asking me for things to keep him busy every second.  It is truly taking the grace of God to patiently wait on the Lord.

Prayer: Lord, help me to follow your will for me in my life at all times today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

This is from the Gospel reading today...Chad found it for me...God bless him...

One thought on “Why wait? Don’t question the call, act…

Leave a Reply

