Eternal life and living forever are not the same…

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading:  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish.  (John 10:28a)

Observation:  It is interesting to me that I would pick this partial verse to journal on today when there are so many other intriguing verses to choose from in today’s readings.  Even the end of this verse, someone could write on that sentence for a whole novel…No one can take them out of my hand…Anyway, I am seeing a difference that is being pointed out in Jesus’ words today that I believe I have journaled on before.  It is the fact that eternal life is not the same as living forever.  If it was, I don’t believe we would see Jesus saying it two different ways.  When Jesus talks in parables, he is clearly not speaking about a real life situation that we could read about in history, but you are left with an idea of what each character or symbol represents on earth.  In this case, Jesus is clearly making a point about two separate ideas, unless he is assuming that the people he is speaking with are morons, which it doesn’t seem like I remember him speaking in that way before.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) – An inner strength that permits us to be aware of our own abilities without having to make a show of them.  Today, I am hearing a call to live this eternal life that was given to me as a gift from Jesus Christ.  Also, I am hearing a call to live this eternal life that is full of the fruit of the holy Spirit with the clear knowledge of the fact that when my life on earth is finished, I will not perish.  I am not hearing a call to go prove that I can jump off a bridge, rather a call to live life as a disciple of Jesus to the fullest extent of the ability that he has given me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay humble in my call to proclaim your Word without having to fall into sin to remind me of how worthless I am.  Please keep me from sin and always about your work of bringing the Good News to your world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

