His true disciples recognize him with their eyes closed…

Standard

Gift:  Understanding

Reading:  3 When he has driven out all his own, he walks ahead of them, and the sheep follow him, because they recognize his voice.  (John 10:4)

Observation:  10 – 4 in ten code means that the transmission was received and understood clearly.  I am hearing this morning that I don’t necessarily need to have all of my senses to be receiving the Word clearly to still be getting the message.  Jesus is referring here to the fact that although I may be like the blind man, who Jesus used more than just simple words to heal in the previous chapter by putting clay on his eyes and having him wash it off, it is not necessary for me to feel, taste and see the presence of God at all times to know that I am following his will for me.  However, there may be times when God will use other ways to show me how to follow him, like suffering and pain.

Personification:  Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  It seems ridiculous for me to want to be writing about displaying the fruit of modesty.  Since, for some time now, it is pretty apparent that I do not have connections or wealth to use to impress others.  However, I am needing the grace that comes from above to be able to not make a display of the grace that he is bestowing on me to accomplish his will for me.  This is a tough one, since I am finding it difficult to get through to the young people in our church community and how else do I show them that God loves them, except by having my life be an example of that love. 

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a new spirit of modesty, so that I can be aware of my worthlessness at all times and always give all of the glory to you in every thing that you accomplish through me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

