Behold, one is coming…Receives the one…Tell Jesus, I will be the one…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  John heralded his coming by proclaiming a baptism of repentance to all the people of Israel; and as John was completing his course, he would say, ‘What do you suppose that I am? I am not he. Behold, one is coming after me; I am not worthy to unfasten the sandals of his feet.’  (Acts 13:24-25)

&

Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.”  (John 13:20)

Observation:  In a letter to her sisters, Mother Teresa wrote:

Tell Jesus, “I will be the one.”  I will comfort, encourage and love Him….Be with Jesus.  He prayed and prayed, and then He went to look for consolation, but there was none….I always write that sentence, “I looked for one to comfort me, but I found no one.”  Then I write, “Be the one.”  So now you be that one.  Try to be the one to share with Him, to console Him.  So let us ask Our Lady to help us understand.

This morning, I am once again hearing a special call from the readings and from the book that I am currently reading.  The book is, “Mother Teresa – Come be my light”.  I found this morning, a website that uses this phrase of, “Be the one” to promote saving yourself for marriage.  After watching the videos on the site, I think we should all be promoters of saving ourselves for marriage, even us married folks.

Personification:  Chastity – Able to form loving and caring friendships, which help us to act appropriately with our gift of sexuality.  It is no surprise that I would choose the fruit of chastity to focus on today after finding the website that I found this morning.  I started out looking for a video from the Matrix to relate the story of being the one.  However, I found the movie to be a little too focused on the sexual nature, rather than the call to follow Jesus.  As I was being led to focus on the negative both in the movie and as I followed a song that was playing behind a video on youtube, I felt the compulsion to let my thoughts wander into a place of near temptation.  I decided to google the words, “be the one” once again, and this is what I found…

http://www.betheone.org/

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to focus my attention on your will for me and allow me to be your comfort and not your suffering.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

