Miracles performed by a disciple of Jesus…Is that you?

Standard

Scripture:   But that we may not offend them, 24 go to the sea, drop in a hook, and take the first fish that comes up. Open its mouth and you will find a coin worth twice the temple tax. Give that to them for me and for you.”  (Matthew 17:27)

Observation:  Although, it is normally the focus of this scripture to see the need to not offend the people to which we are subject to on this earth, I am seeing Jesus’ greater call to the disciples to be able to perform miracles.  Jesus doesn’t say watch as I make a coin appear in the fishes mouth that I am going to catch from the sea, he tells Peter to go to the sea and catch the fish that will have the coin in its mouth.  I believe Jesus did that, so that Peter would see that he has the power to perform miracles.  We also have this power, because we are his disciples.

Application:  I told the children that are preparing to receive the body and blood of Christ this weekend, at their retreat last weekend, that Peter performed miracles in the name of Jesus just like they could perform miracles.  I will thank God today and every day for the rest of my life for performing miracles in my life, however unworthy I am of them.  My hope is that I will not look like the many faces of those children last weekend who looked at me with the look of shock that I would say that they would perform miracles like Peter did.

Prayer:  Lord, help my unbelief and give me the faith that Peter displayed when following the will of our Father by being a true disciple of Jesus Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

