He makes all things new…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  They strengthened the spirits of the disciples and exhorted them to persevere in the faith, saying, “It is necessary for us to undergo many hardships to enter the kingdom of God.”  (Acts 14:22)

&

The one who sat on the throne 5 said, “Behold, I make all things new.”  (Revelations 21:5a)

&

This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”  (John 13:35)

Observation:  We started out today readings with Paul explaining that we will undergo tough times before we enter the kingdom of God.  I cannot tell and the notes do not say whether he is speaking about the kingdom to come or the one that Jesus proclaimed here on earth already.  Anyway, I believe the point is to not worry about the troubles that come your way during your conversion, because it is a part of the process.  In the second reading, John’s vision from the book of Revelation shows that God is going to create a new creation after the old heaven and earth have passed away.  I guess when you look at it from the point of the original creation, it doesn’t seem as hard to believe that he would just recreate a new thing.  As for the Gospel today, I think we get a glimpse of what it should be like for the disciples of Jesus on earth, and even more what it will be like once we enter into the kingdom of God.  We should find a way to love everyone, because Jesus did and we are called to follow in his footsteps.

Personification:   Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  If it is my goal to love everyone that I meet as Jesus exhorts us to in today’s Gospel reading, I must display the fruit of self-control in my life to make sure that the things that are important to building up the kingdom are given priority and the order that comes from that will bring me peace.  This peace will allow me to shine the light of love onto everyone that I meet.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, I pray for my joyful wife.  Her Mother and Father, Alice and Lee’s spiritual well being, a start for

Lee and a renewal for Alice.  Please continue to open my Dad’s eyes to the truth and watching over him.  Help me to do your will.  Father Roy’s preaching to continue to reach out to more people.  My sister Sarah’s continued receipt of wisdom.  I pray for the KLOVE radio ministry.  Derek Burge to continue to be strengthened in the Lord to live with purpose.  Jason Bandy to get in touch with his faith.  Joshua and Sheldon to be strengthened in their faith.  Little Lee to be open to understanding his faith more completely.  Grandma Maria and Grandpa Ray to be made stronger in health by your grace.  I continue to pray for the enrichment of faith after confirmation of all of our youth in our Parish

community.  I ask all these things, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

