How is he pruning me right now?

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit, and everyone that does he prunes 3 so that it bears more fruit.  (John 15:2)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning that even though our lives as disciples of Jesus Christ may very well be bearing fruit and I feel like I couldn’t possibly bear any more fruit, God knows my true potential and will prune me until I am living up to that potential.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  I need to be given the grace necessary to know how to respond to all situations in a manner that respects my own family as well as everyone else around me.  I believe the question I need to ask is not, “What would Jesus do?” but rather, “If Jesus was a 38 year old married man with three boys, what would he do?”  My primary vocation is husband and father to my beautiful wife and three boys, and I must make sure that is bearing fruit before I look to any other part of our ministry to be bearing fruit.

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a sense of understanding about what situations require my attention and what situations I need to ask for help, so that I can concentrate on my primary vocation.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

