Don’t focus on the world, because it’s not changing!

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading: The world will surely stand fast, never to be moved.  (Psalm 96:10b)

&

If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete.”  (John 15:11)

Observation: This morning’s readings are telling me that the world is going to be the same, regardless of what advancements are made in technology and human understanding.  However, the simplest thing from the Gospel reading today shows that the answer to life’s joy is not the latest and greatest gadget, but rather the understanding that comes from following the commandments of God.

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion. There are times in my life that I truly understand what pain and confusion is, and it is just these times that I am thankful to be following the commandments to the best of my ability.  I hope to continue to get the free gift of grace that allows me to follow the commandments more closely, so that I may completely understand the fruit of joy that comes from the holy Spirit.

Prayer: Lord, help me to follow your commandments in my daily life and lead others to do the same, so that we all can share in your joy.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Don’t focus on the world, because it’s not changing!

Leave a Reply

