Rationalization for finding someone to take your place in ministry…

Standard

This is the shirt I should wear to Youth Ministry...

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  For it is written in the Book of Psalms: ‘Let his encampment become desolate, and may no one dwell in it.’ And: ‘May another take his office.’  (Acts 1:20)

Observation:  The first reading for today’s Mass leaves out the details of Judas’ death, which is ok with me because I am sure it would have still been the 20th verse that spoke to me this morning.  It is more about the qualifications of someone that was going to take his place and the actual selection of that person with the guidance of the holy Spirit.  It leads me to thinking about making sure that there is someone ready to take my position once it is time for me to move on.  I’ve always respected the people that were in positions of authority over me, that tried to grow me into their position, regardless of what it meant to their position.   I guess this is what I am hearing the Word give real meaning to this morning.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) – Because we know we are love by God, we are able to put up with the injuries, slights, and outrages of life.  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of a positive attitude for at least the majority of the time that I am awake.  It is only by being an example, of what long-suffering really means in youth ministry, that I can show what  a person who is being called into ministry looks like, and allow someone to be that person that comes forward to take my place. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay positive at all times when around the youth and my family, so that I can not stand in the way of the holy Spirit bringing forth the person that will take my place.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

