Consecration in truth, not only for the Apostles…

Standard

Us and Them
And after all we’re only ordinary men
Me, and you
God only knows it’s not what we would choose to do
Forward he cried from the rear
And the front rank died
The General sat, and the lines on the map
Moved from side to side

Black and Blue
And who knows which is which and who is who
Up and Down
And in the end it’s only round and round and round
Haven’t you heard it’s a battle of words
The poster bearer cried
Listen son, said the man with the gun
There’s room for you inside

Down and Out
It can’t be helped but there’s a lot of it about
With, without
And who’ll deny it’s what the fighting’s all about
Out of the way, it’s a busy day
I’ve got things on my mind
For want of the price of tea and a slice
The old man died

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading: “I pray not only for them, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, I made known to them your name and I will make it known, 8 that the love with which you loved me may be in them and I in them.”  (John 17:20,26)

Observation: I have been thinking a lot this week about how Jesus was explaining he was going to keep the Apostles away from the evil one, and how they were not of this world since they believe in him.  This morning, at the conclusion of this chapter in the Gospel of John, we hear that Jesus wants all of this for us too.  We also hear how he is going to send the holy Spirit to reveal more truth to the Apostles and to us, and we are going to be united with the Father by his love and Jesus will be in us as well.

Personification: Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  The best way to feel the love of the Father is to pass that love onto others that we meet in our daily lives.  I am feeling today that there are people in my life that I could bring the love of the Father into their lives, and I must stay alert for the opportunity when it presents itself.

Prayer: Lord, allow me to be ready to bring the fruit of love to everyone that I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

