We do not need to know everything to follow him…

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  Jesus said to him, “What if I want him to remain until I come? 12 What concern is it of yours? You follow me.”  (John 21:22)

Observation:  The first reading reminded me of our Summer Camp last year at Saint Alice Church.  We had a prison that was supposed to be Paul’s house in Rome, where the kids could come and meet Paul.  It was pretty cool.  Anyway, it ended up that the cave was actually a better learning environment, because of the effect of the darkness on the kids and the idea that the early Christians had to hide their faith to live was exciting for them.  All of this to say that I did not expect the cave to be as great of a teaching tool as the prison, but the point is that I don’t need to know how God is going to use me, I just have to concentrate on following him.  Although my tendency is to be concerned about how God is using me, I must hear the words of Jesus to Peter saying he should be concerned with just following him.

Personification:  Kindness – The strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service.  It will be my focus today to show his kindness to everyone that I meet.  I will allow the will of God to flow through me, even though I am not worthy of his grace because I am a worthless sinner.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay true to your Word at all times and bring a real spirit of repentance into my heart for every time that I have not followed Jesus and doubted that you have the best of me planned for my future.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

